Plans can change, but it is still important to document proposed changes to the job. Creating a directive lets you authorize work, while a Vendor Change Order will be issued after the directive including the details of the actual time/change required in the scope, approved by all parties involved in the transaction (customer, contractor, subcontractor).
1. Manually Create a Vendor Directive
A unique aspect of many construction contracts is provisions that entitle Customers to order changes and/or additional work to be performed by Contractors in the absence of final agreement to the price and time impacts of such orders. Such provisions are typically "flowed down" by Contractors to their Subcontractors.
In RedTeam Flex, the Change Management process starts with a potential change initiated by either the Customer or Contractor. Contractors then prepare orders to their Subcontractors called Vendor Directives (or, simply, a "Directive").
To be eligible for a Directive, the Vendor must first have been issued a form of Commitment that allows for such changes under the original Project. See the Manage Buyout Commitments article for more details.
When you create a new Directive, you will be prompted to reference the current Buyout Commitment. Once you select the Commitment, you can enter details of the change and, if agreed upon, the value of the change. If there is no agreement regarding the value of the change, it may be set as To Be Determined and it will appear as "TBD" on the Directive.
Steps:
Go to the Project's Buyout tab.
Click the Hamburger icon and Select Vendor Directives from the dropdown.
Click + New and select Add Vendor Directive.
In Step 1, select a Commitment from the Reference dropdown, then fill out the required fields.
In Step 2, enter Directive Items for the Vendor.
In Step 3, confirm all details and Close. You can also click View Directive from the Confirmation Summary or navigate to the Buyout tab to see your Directive.
2. Create a Vendor Directive from Quote
The most efficient way to create a new Vendor Directive in RedTeam Flex is from a Best Quote. After receiving a change and creating your Potential Change Order, you may want to solicit new Quotes from your Vendors pertaining to that change. You must have an existing and committed Buyout Commitment (that allows Change Orders) on file in the Project for that Vendor in order to be able to issue them a Directive. If you have a contract with the Vendor, and you have selected them as "Best" you can go ahead and create the Directive directly from the Best Quote.
Once created, your Vendor Directive will appear in the list under the Buyout tab or you can use the shortcut by clicking View Directive from the Confirmation summary that appears once the Directive has been created.
Steps:
From the Project's Home menu (House Icon), select Vendor Quotes under the Preconstruction heading.
If you have not already selected a Quote as Best, do so now.
Click the Tools icon and then Add Vendor Directive.
Follow steps 4 to 6 from Section 1 of this Article.
3. Edit a Vendor Directive
Once a Directive has been created, and before it has been committed, it may be edited. Note that if the Vendor Directive has been committed, you will need permissions or an administrator to uncommit it.
Steps:
Click the Hamburger icon and select Vendor Directives from the dropdown.
Locate the Directive in the list, click the Tools icon and then Edit. You can also click the Pencil icon to edit.
Edit the Vendor Directive and close the Form.
4. Commit a Vendor Directive
Once a Vendor Directive has been created, you may commit it. Be sure to check the Directive details for accuracy before committing. Once committed, you will need permissions or an administrator to make changes or delete.
Steps:
Click the Hamburger icon and select Vendor Directives from the dropdown.
Locate the Directive in the list, click the Tools icon and then Commit.
5. Delete a Vendor Directive
Once a Directive has been created, and before it has been committed, it may be deleted. Note that once a Directive is committed you will need permissions or an administrator to uncommit it.











